Cochrane-Fountain City School District Regular School Board Meeting April 24, 2024

The Board meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. in the school board room #335 by Larry Cyrus. Board members present were Larry Cyrus, Michael Ayala, Lynn Doelle, Darrin Dillinger, Niki Secrist, Amanda Lacey, and Lisa Wolfe. Others present were Troy White, Karen Domine, Steve Stoppelmoor, Pam Prenot, Dan Rolbecki, Jenny Brandt, Nathan Brandt, Allison Doelle, Andrea Robinson, Cindy Lambert, and Tom Hiebert.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited, and Lynn Doelle read the Mission Statement.

Larry Cyrus attested to the publication of the meeting.

Approval of the Agenda

Amanda Lacey made a motion to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Lisa Wolfe. Motion carried.

Board Organization

Policy 141 Board Officers-Election of Officers (President, Vice President, Clerk, and Treasurer)

- President Larry Cyrus opened the floor for nominations for School Board President. Lynn Doelle nominated Larry Cyrus. Lisa Wolfe seconded the nomination. Niki Secrist nominated Darrin Dillinger. Michael Ayala seconded the nomination. Larry Cyrus declined the nomination. On a roll call vote, Darrin Dillinger was elected president on a 6 -1 vote.
- Vice-President Darrin Dillinger opened the floor for nominations for School Board Vice-President. Niki Secrist nominated Larry Cyrus. Lynn Doelle seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. On a roll call vote, Larry Cyrus was elected vice president on a 6 0 vote with Larry Cyrus abstaining.
- **Clerk** Darrin Dillinger opened the floor for nominations for School Board Clerk. Lynn Doelle nominated Niki Secrist. Lisa Wolfe seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. On a roll call vote, Niki Secrist was elected clerk on a 6 -0 vote with Niki Secrist abstaining.
- Treasurer Darrin Dillinger opened the floor for nominations for School Board Treasurer. Niki Secrist nominated Lynn Doelle. Michael Ayala seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. On a roll call vote, Lynn Doelle was elected treasurer on a 6 0 vote with Lynn Doelle abstaining.

Policy 170 Regular and Special Board Meetings

Discuss and consider recommendation to hold regular meetings on the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 6:00 pm.
 Larry Cyrus made a motion to hold regular meetings on the third Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. Seconded by Michael Ayala, motion carried.

Policy 185 Committee of the Whole

Discuss and consider recommendations to hold committee meetings on the 1st Monday of the month at 6:00 pm.
 Niki Secrist made a motion to hold the committee of the whole meetings on the first Monday of each month at 6:00. Lynn Doelle seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Policy 165.1 School Board Member Conflicts of Interest -Completion of Conflict-of-Interest Forms All Board members completed the conflict-of-interest form.

Discuss and consider recommendation to designate the Buffalo County News as the District's Official Newspaper.

Larry Cyrus made a motion to designate the Buffalo County News as the District's official newspaper. Michael Ayala seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Discuss and consider recommendations to designate Dean Dietrich of Weld-Riley as the District's Legal Counsel

Larry Cyrus made a motion to designate Dean Dietrich as the district's legal counsel. Amanda Lacey seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Appointment of District's CESA Representative

Larry Cyrus was appointed the District's CESA representative.

Appointment of District's WASB Delegate

Michael Ayala was appointed the District's WASB delegate.

Appointment of TIF Delegate

Darrin Dillinger was appointed the District's TIF delegate.

Appointment of Treasure Trove liaison

Michael Ayala was appointed the Treasure Trove liaison.

Appointment of School Achievement Team representative

Amanda Lacey was appointed the School Achievement Team representative.

Appointment Graduation Representatives

Michael Ayala and Niki Secrist were appointed as school board graduation representatives for this year.

Connection with the community

District celebrations and recognitions

The list that was included in the board packet was read.

Public Comments/Appearances

None.

Consent Agenda

- Approval of Board of Education minutes from the regular board meeting on March 20, 2024.
- Approval of March 21, 2024 April 24, 2024, vouchers.

Niki Secrist made a motion to approve the consent agenda as presented. Lynn Doelle seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Discuss, Consider, and Take Action, if appropriate, regarding strategic initiatives

Discuss and consider recommendations to approve the resignation of Diane Martin.

Amanda Lacey made a motion to approve the resignation of Diane Martin. Larry Cyrus seconded the motion. Motion carried.

• Discuss and consider recommendations to approve the professional staff salary and compensation.

After discussion, Niki Secrist made a motion to approve the professional staff salary and compensation. Lisa Wolfe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Discuss and consider recommendations to approve the support staff salary and compensation.

After discussion, Lynn Doelle made a motion to approve the support staff salary and compensation. Larry Cyrus seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Discuss and consider recommendations to approve the speech and language pathologist contract.

Amanda Lacey made a motion to approve the speech and language pathologist contract. Lisa Wolfe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Reports

Summer School update – Steve Stoppelmoor

Steve Stoppelmoor gave the board an update on summer school classes being offered. There are 16 classes offered on site this summer and some offered virtually through RVA.

Budget Forecast – Troy White

The budget forecast was tabled until the May meeting.

Future Agenda Items

Handbook updates

The handbook will be updated to reflect the changes like the salary schedules.

Review Timelines and Items for Future Board Agendas and Meetings.

Monday	May 6 th , 2024	Committee of the whole meeting	6:00 p.m. changed to 5:30 p.m.
		Board retreat	following committee meeting
Wednesday	May 15 th , 2024	Regular Meeting	6:00 p.m.
Saturday	May 25 th , 2024	Graduation	1:00 p.m.

Adjourn

Amanda Lacey made a motion to adjourn at 7:02 p.m., seconded by Michael Ayala. Motion carried.